It’s week 4!

It sure is, already, week 4 of my NHS couch to 5k programme. 
The idea is that over 9 weeks you build up from just 60 seconds of jogging at a time, to doing a full 30 minutes! Each week has a podcast to download, and you have to do each run three times over the course of the week. I run every Monday, Wednesday and Friday.
Week 4 entailed a 5 minute warm up walk, 3 minutes of running, 90 second walk, 5 minutes running, 2 and 1/2 minute walk, then another 3 minutes running, 90 second walk, 5 minutes running and finally 5 minutes of walking to cool down at the end.
So a grand total of 16 minutes running tonight! Bit of a leap from the 9 minutes of last weeks sessions. It was tough at parts, but I made it through alive! (Just)
I’ve never been any good at running, hated it at school in fact. But now I’m a bit older I can see how it will help to improve my fitness, energy levels and just general health. Plus it’s free and I can do it anywhere.
Look out Hereford; I’ll be running everywhere come October!

Seems a pretty good plan so far, it’s a challenge each week, but not impossible, so my fitness must be improving quite rapidly!

Check out this link for more details:

http://www.nhs.uk/Livewell/c25k/Pages/get-running-with-couch-to-5k.aspx

Leave a Reply

